On my former blog I interviewed a number of Australian authors including Rosanne Hawke. Rosanne writes youth fiction and includes strong themes of social justice.

rosanneSm

Here is what Rosanne Hawke had to say to Ink Smeared Page:

Ink: What does your workspace look like?

RH: It’s an underground room with a window at ground level. A bit like the rabbits’ house dug into a hillside in a book I loved as a child. I live in a 160 year-old house so the underground room has bookcases lining the walls, a roll top desk and a computer desk, and a portable piano, a combustion heater, couch for reading drafts and a cat basket.

Ink: Who or what inspires your work?

RH: My eldest daughter inspires me a lot. Her name is Lenore. She started me writing in the first place when she was a young teen. I’m inspired by great writers who use words beautifully like Eva Hornung, John Green and Markus Zuzack. Also, I’m inspired by stories about young people surviving difficult circumstances and injustice.

Ink: What advice would you offer aspiring writers?

RH: Read a lot of course, and know your characters so well they practically write the story for you. If you don’t know enough about the characters, you won’t get their voices right, or the plot exciting enough or maybe not even be able to finish the story because you don’t know what the character needs to know or achieve.

Ink: What was your reaction when you found out that your first manuscript was going to be published?

RH: I got tears in my eyes, not just for me but because my daughter really wanted me to publish a story I wrote for her.

Ink: What dreams do you have for your writing career?

RH: To keep writing, to be able to write something so beautiful that it enriches young people’s hearts and lives. I’d love to talk at the Fowey Festival of Words and Music in Cornwall about writing as a Cornish descendant of the Diaspora. Just a dream, though I do believe goals can help us realise dreams; but we need to distinguish what are goals within our control and what are dreams which are not. There’s no harm in praying of course.

More information about Rosanne Hawke and her writing can be found on her website at http://www.rosannehawke.com and on her blog https://rosannehawke.wordpress.com

